Canal building led to unique and diverse heritage features, all of which are worthy of protection in their own right. The Canal is not a museum, it is a usable asset, its heritage a living one, and we want to ensure that it is protected in a way that is usable now and in the future. As a heritage asset it is unsurpassed in scale and accessibility, telling the story of Britain’s industrial past as well as being important to its future, in terms of tourism, physical and mental health and our national sense of identity.
Nestled in the Chiltern Hills, the Wendover Canal links the picturesque village of Wendover to the Grand Union Canal almost seven miles away at Bulbourne. The ongoing restoration of the canal offers a great opportunity to open up and celebrate the local heritage.
Alfred de Rothschild was one of the wealthy city bankers who settled at Halton Buckinghamshire in 1853. He had this bridge built in 1880 to connect parts of his land. It includes his monogram within the ironwork. Our restoration work will enable more people to see and appreciate this impressive landmark.
This gauge has been measuring the flow from Wendover Springs since 1841. Experts highlight these records as providing unique insights into flow patterns throughout the Victorian era. They can be used to quantify the effects of climate change on water resources.
This land near Whitehouses formed the edge of a former refuse tip and was fallow ground. Wendover volunteers reclaimed it using surplus soil and topsoil, fenced it, and returned it to Hertfordshire County Council for rent to the resident farmer. We have managed to attract the butterflies back too!
The original Little Tring Bridge (built c 1797) was demolished in 1973. Thirty years later Wendover Arm Trust invested in this re-creation. It is a modern concrete bridge which has been finished with traditional bricks with a skew brick arch and gentle curves to the sides.
Tringford Pumping Station was constructed in 1817. Over the last 200 years many alterations to the pumps have been undertaken, starting with the original Boulton & Watt steam engine (sadly scrapped in 1928). The narrow boats moored are adorned with flags while attending a canal festival, which ran every year for 20 years and helped finance the restorations.
This is the site of a former swing bridge which connected a track between the Lower Icknield Way and Wilstone Village. It is now a designated footpath which has been connected by a foot bridge built by Wendover Canal volunteers. The swing bridge abutments are now being conserved and restored with heritage bricks.